This article goes over how you can find out which documents will be included in and excluded from your signature packet. It covers what you can see at each workflow step, and how admins enable document reordering permissions at the Review step.
Use Case
Your workflow is in flight and you want to confirm exactly what your counterparty will receive for signature: which documents, and in what order.
| Prerequisites | |
|---|---|
| Features | Workflow Designer, eSignature |
| Connected Systems | eSignature Provider |
| Permissions |
|
Release: One or more of the following features and functionalities will go live on August 13, 2026. To learn more about what's included in our August release, refer to What's New in Ironclad: August 2026.
Enable/Access: To access these settings, click the Workflow Designer page in Ironclad, and select the workflow configuration you want to modify. Click the Sign tab, then click Settings. Learn more about the Signature Coordinator role.
What You Can See at Each Workflow Step
What is visible in the signature packet depends on where the workflow is in its lifecycle.
| Workflow Step | Documents |
|---|---|
| Create | You won’t see the documents in the signature packet yet, because information from forms must be collected to generate the first versions. |
| Review | The Documents section is your central hub for managing documents. You can see which documents will be included in your signature packet in the exact order your counterparty will see them, as well as which documents will be excluded. |
| Sign | All the documents from the signature packet are combined into one document. This step indicates whether it is sent, partially signed, or fully signed at that point in time. It isn’t possible to see these documents split out. |
| Archive and Completed | The signature packet remains combined and can’t be split out into individual documents. |
Review Step
During the Review step, you can adjust which documents are in the signature packet and their order:
- Admins can configure who’s allowed to move and reorder documents in the signature packet at the Review step.
- Workflow managers have this ability assigned to them by default.
- All other users can adjust which documents are included and in what order when permitted by their admin.
Enable Document Reordering Permissions
Admins can control who’s allowed to move and reorder documents at the Review step.
To enable these permissions:
- Open Workflow Designer and select the workflow configuration you want to update.
- Click the Review tab.
- Click the Settings tab.
- In the Move Documents section, adjust the reordering permissions (e.g., Everyone, or specific users/groups) as needed.
- Click Save in the top-right corner to preserve your changes.
To confirm, open the Review tab settings and check that the Move Documents section reflects the intended users or groups.
Sign Step
At the Sign step and beyond, we combine all the documents from the signature packet into one document. It will indicate whether it is sent, partially signed, or fully signed based on who has signed the signature packet at that point in time. It is not possible to see these documents split out.
If Past draft and reference documents is expanded, you can see past drafts and versions of the signature packet as well.
Archive Step and Completed Workflows
The signature packet remains combined and is not possible to split out into individual documents
If Past draft and reference documents is expanded, you can see past drafts and versions of the signature packet as well.